Skip to main content

All 3 Men Found Guilty in Murder of Ahmaud Arbery -

Pastors, First Ladies Observed Pastoral Anniversaries

By Rev. Roger Mills, AM Publisher

Photo courtesy of Bishop Kincaid

Pittsburg, PA- Bishop Kincaid celebrated his 61st year in Ministry in October. His first Pastoral  appointment was at the West Market Street Methodist Church, Johnson, TN, while I was a senior at Slater High School in Bristol.

Bristol, VA– Rev. Stephanie & Mark Collins celebrated their 10th Pastoral Anniversary at Morning Star Fire-Baptized Holiness Church on October 10, 2021. Minister Curtis Brown brought the anniversary message. Special music guests were The Murphy Gospel Singers.

Kingsport, TN– Rev. Dr. Kenneth & Rev. Dr. Linda Calvert observed their 31st Pastoral Anniversary at Shiloh Baptist Church on September 30, 2021.

The anniversary message was delivered by Rev. Calvert’s Father in the ministry, Rev. Dr. Harold Middlebrook, Sr of Knoxville, TN.

Photo courtesy of Kimberly Jones

Morristown, TN– Elder J. W. & Gwenetta Dukes, Jr., celebrated their 10th Pastoral Anniversary at Faith Temple Church of God in Christ Church on September 19, 2021. The anniversary message was delivered by Rev. Dr. William Butler, pastor of Rock of Ages Baptist Church, Morristown, TN.

Jefferson City, TN– The officers and members of Martha Davis Baptist Church observed their pastor and first lady, Rev. Nathaniel & Yvonne Wilson, Jr.’s, 27th Pastoral Anniversary on September 12, 2021, during their morning worship service.

Revs. Eric Leake and Rev. Brain Thompson Elected AMEZ Bishops
Photo credit: Eric Leake; Photo credit: Simone Temple AME Zion Church

Revs. Eric Leake and Rev. Brain Thompson Elected AMEZ Bishops
By Rev. Roger Mills, AM Publisher  - August 2, 2021

ATLANTA, GA- Delegates to the 51st AME Zion Church Quadrennial General Conference elected two Bishops, Rev. Dr. Brian R. Thompson, Sr., and Rev. Dr. Eric Leake on Friday, July 30, 2021.

Rev. Thompson, the senior pastor of Simon Temple in Fayetteville, NC, is the 106th Bishop in line of succession in the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church.  Rev. Leake, the senior pastor of Martin Temple in Chicago, Il, is the 107th Bishop in line of succession in the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church.

Rev. Thompson and Rev. Leake were consecrated as Bishops on Sunday, August 1, 2021. Bishop Leake has been assign to the Southwestern Delta Episcopal District: Arkansas Louisiana Oklahoma West-Tennessee Mississippi South Mississippi Texas India. Bishop Leake has been assign to the Western Episcopal District Colorado Arizona California Southwest Rocky Mountain Oregon-Washington Alaska.

Retirement for Rev. Joseph M. Comage

Retirement for Rev. Joseph M. Comage
By Rev. Pamela Hoard, AM Staff Writer - August 1, 2021

Kingsport, TN- The Johnson City and Bristol Districts of the East Tennessee-Virginia Conference joined together on Saturday, July 24th to celebrate Rev. Joseph M. Comage’s pastoral retirement. His retirement was effective in June 2021 at the end of the Annual Conference year.

Rev. Comage, who was licensed to preach by the late Rev. J.B. Gaines at Shiloh Baptist Church in 1990, has served as pastor or interim pastor at more than 8 churches in the East Tennessee-Virginia area including Shiloh Baptist, Kingsport; Russell Chapel, Rogersville; Blackmon Chapel, Norton, VA; Hood Memorial, Bristol; Robinson Memorial, Bluff City; Hasson Street Christian, Rogersville; and Toney Chapel, Morristown, TN.  Lyons Chapel AME Zion Church in Church Hill, TN was privileged to serve  under his leadership for the past 9 years.

Attendees included Presiding Elder Pamela Hoard, JC District; Presiding Elder Charles Hawkins, Bristol District, Rev. Dr. Charlotte Comage, Rev. Sandra Jones, Rev. George Kukubor, Rev. Earnest Easterly, Rev. Roy Charles, Elder Jackie Charles, Rev. William Ward, and several members of local churches.  The celebration was held at the Riverfront Seafood Restaurant on Netherland Inn Road in Kingsport, TN.  Gifts were presented as well as many thanks and well wishes.  To God Be the Glory!